Tip of the Day: Evangelism (5)


You are explaining the gospel to an individual and he says, “I just can’t believe there is only one of way to heaven.” Perhaps you are frozen in your tracks as you think, “what do I do now?”

I usually say something like this, although there are no “silver bullets” for questions like these: 

God is not obligated to make a way of salvation for those who have shattered his laws and violated his standards in rebellion against him. However, God in his mercy and grace has made a way of salvation for those very people; He did not have to do this to begin with. Further, He could have made a 2nd or 3rd way of salvation, but man in his rebellion would have sought a 4th or 5th or 78th. The problem, then, is not with God, nor with His way of salvation; the problem is ours. We will not come to God on His terms; we will not follow His way.*

*I first heard this concept on a Ravi Zacharias podcast.

  1. #1 by Daniel Chew on February 24, 2009 - 5:46 pm

    Perhaps you can make them think first instead? Ask them: Why do you think there should be even a way to heaven?

  2. #2 by clearly on February 24, 2009 - 6:41 pm

    Daniel,

    Welcome to seeing clearly. I agree. Questions are usually the way to go!

    I’ve been to Singapore before and had a great visit there! I enjoyed Chinese breakfast, “rombutan” (sp), and the MRT rides.

  3. #3 by opaun on February 24, 2009 - 7:36 pm

    That’s a great response. It really is all about us, and how we don’t want to change our lives.

  4. #4 by Daniel Chew on February 25, 2009 - 6:07 am

    Dave:

    I see. I hope you have enjoyed Singapore and our three seasons (hot, hotter and hottest). =P. As an aside, I think the Next! series on Teampyro is rather illuminating.

  5. #5 by clearly on February 25, 2009 - 7:42 am

    The Next! series is awesome. I think I will link to that series soon….

    I’m hoping I was there during hottest, because I don’t think it could get much worse:) While I was there, I did see how difficult it is to minister in Singapore; I wish you God’s blessings as you stand for the gospel.

  1. NEXT! « seeing clearly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

