Thank you to a hero


I want to take an opportunity to honor a hero. Early this week, her broken body stopped operating; she took her last breath and entered the presence of the Lord Jesus, now absent from her body, but present with her Lord face to face.

Tomorrow is her funeral service. There will be no news reporters or video cameras. People in this world of supposed great importance will not take time out of their busy schedules to even give her life a thought. To many of them, hers was a life wasted. She spent it serving the Lord in her church, witnessing to others, and caring for her children, one of which is autistic. There will be no recognition from government officials, no military funeral. However, she does deserve a military funeral; she was a faithful solider of the Lord Jesus and an outstanding citizen of the kingdom. Yet her funeral will be simple — some friends and family will gather and thank God for the years that He graciously gave her.

I never got to meet Linda. But I owe much to her life and ministry.

Some 35 years ago, my Father was influenced by the witness of this faithful lady. At the time he was a university student, living a godless life. He was lost in darkness, spiritually blind and enslaved by sin. Linda worked in the same store as my Dad. Each Christmas she would give him a card with Bible verses. He would read them over and over again — he could not bring himself to throw those cards away. He always says that Linda could not always explain his questions, but he couldn’t begin to explain her life. She planted the seeds of the gospel that the Holy Spirit would later use to bring my Dad to salvation in Jesus Christ.

I want to thank Linda for faithfully witnessing to my Father. It is easy to go to work and never open your mouth about Jesus, simply hoping that your Christian actions will be testimony enough to the saving power of Christ — it is a much harder thing to do both. That’s what Linda did. She not only modeled a genuine Christian life, but she was willing to speak it to others. 

The following is a section from a note that I tried to get to Linda before she died. I trust she got to hear this.

Thank you for choosing the hard path – the path that sometimes leads to suffering, shame, and mockery. Thank you for bearing your cross. Thank you for not wasting your life, but for using it for God’s work. In some sense, I owe my life to your ministry. I wish my words were an adequate portrayal of my grattitude toward you – but they just can’t seem to capture how much I am thankful for you.

My friend Sam posted this song not long ago — it expresses my thoughts on Linda and her ministry to the Lord.

  1. #1 by Nicole on December 13, 2007 - 7:24 pm

    thank you!

  2. #2 by Sandy on December 14, 2007 - 11:26 am

    Dave,

    Thanks for your tender spirit. All of us who have been affected by your dad’s ministry are grateful for Linda’s life and testimony. We never know how God is going to use our simple witness. All the more reason to be faithful.

    Praying for you bud. Hey…you are getting married soon!! 🙂

    Sandy

  3. #3 by Rick Frueh on December 15, 2007 - 9:52 am

    Thank God for Godly believers like her. She being dead yet speaks.

  4. #4 by gbluteman on February 27, 2008 - 2:13 pm

    I seem to recall that’s actually a song written and originally sung by Steve Green. Last I heard it was on an ABWE video a few years back. Good song, actually.

    Indeed, Dave, were it not for the witness of others faithfully preaching The Gospel of God’s Word, none of us would know Christ. All the more reason for us to obey Christ’s command to be witnesses.

  5. #5 by gbluteman on February 27, 2008 - 2:25 pm

    Okay, after listening to the wave file, the melody is similar, but not exactly the same as the Steve Green song (it’s slowed down if nothing else, but doesn’t seem to have the rhythmic ideas similar to Steven Curtis Chapman’s “God is God” that I remember from the mission’s video I mentioned), but the words are the same (I just went and looked them up on Green’s website, to be for certain).

Leave a Reply

