Headlines from my week (updated with powerpoint slides).


1. Today I had the privilege of addressing some of our student body in a workshop entitled, “Discerning What You Read: Velvet Elvis as a test case.”

I taught that discernment was empowered by the Spirit (1 Corinthians 2), and learned through practice in the Word (Hebrews 5).

As a fundamentalist, I also argued for “The Point of No Return” — that is, when a book violates the fundamentals of the faith or causes me to sin, it fails to be a helpful source in my life.

Then we walked through Velvet Elvis and took a look at several “Red Flags.” Our time of interaction was great; the response from students indicated that today was a day of victory for Christ and his gospel!  Click the following link to view the powerpoint slides: discerning-what-you-read2.

2. This summer, Emiley and I are travelling much of the country to represent our school in various schools and churches. Click here to see our itinerary and team pictures. I hate paisley ties, but these are growing on me.

3. I just wrote a paper on canonicity as it relates to the book of Hebrews. Fascinating. One more paper and I will have completed my last big project before graduation!

  1. #1 by DS on April 9, 2008 - 8:53 pm

    How can I get a copy of your notes from:
    Discerning What You Read: Velvet Elvis as a test case ?

    Could you email them my way ??

  2. #2 by gbfluteman on April 10, 2008 - 7:43 pm

    POST YOUR PAPERS 🙂

    Also, as with the first comment, post your sermon notes, too! lol

  3. #3 by clearly on April 11, 2008 - 10:10 am

    Noah,

    I would post my papers, but that would be far too humiliating….

  4. #4 by Chris L on April 11, 2008 - 11:36 am

    Wow – it’s amazing what selective quoting and prooftexting can do, Dave.

    Was this presentation a “how-to” on slander, or (the second to the last slide) to prove that believes in hell, despite ODM whining to the contrary?

  5. #5 by chris on April 11, 2008 - 1:49 pm

    “today was a day of victory for Christ and his gospel!”

    Wow-Not only do I second Chris L. statement but I wanna ask…Christ needed you to have victory over Rob Bell?

    I’ll assume hubris and hyperbole.

  6. #6 by joy on April 11, 2008 - 7:10 pm

    hmmm…It’s slightly intriguing to me that the two of you are getting so worked up and blasting dave for his presentation (after not actually hearing it in person)–I seem to recall the same cannon fired previously at dave for never actually hearing rob bell in person. I was at the presentation, and I noticed that dave was extremely careful to avoid slandering rob. interesting–way to play your cards, guys.
    for the record…the presentation was actually focused on “discerning what you read” (hence the title, thank you captain obvious)…rob’s book just offered a plethora of examples–what can i say? i learned a lot!

  7. #7 by JJW on April 12, 2008 - 5:39 am

    I was at the workshop on Wednesday; I found it insightful and highly beneficial.

    In response to Chris L: Having actually been present to hear the discussion, I can tell you that “slander” did not characterize it at any level. The treatment of Velvet Elvis was, in my opinion, well-balanced and thoroughly devoid of ill will. Indeed, Dave was careful to present the salient positive information regarding Bell and his work, and to explain his criticisms of the book with an attitude, not of controversy, but of submission to the constraints of Scriptural truth.

    Thanks for your good work, Dave; I appreciated it immensely.

  8. #8 by clearly on April 12, 2008 - 6:40 am

    chris: “but I wanna ask…Christ needed you to have victory over Rob Bell?”

    Do you not believe that God uses his people to bring about victories in spiritual battles?

  9. #9 by clearly on April 13, 2008 - 5:26 am

    JJW,

    Thanks for the encouraging word!

Leave a Reply

