Solid Sources on Matthew 19 and Divorce


Graduation is in sight, just one more looming obstacle in my path. My assignment: write an exegetical paper on Matthew 19:1-12 with emphasis on verse 9. 

Initially I was inclined to take the majority position among commentators, namely, that divorce is allowed in the case of marital infidelity and that remarriage is also allowed after a legitimate divorce. 

However, after conversations with three of my godly mentors, and after reading two excellent pieces by Jones and Piper, I don’t feel inclined to take the majority position any longer.

I don’t want this post to turn into a divorce debate; however, I do want to point out the sources that have been beneficial to me in this endeavor.

1. John Piper’s What God Demands From the World (click here and then click the “three chapters” link in the second paragraph). Also see his position paper on the topic.

2. On the academic level, David W. Jones wrote a January 2008 BibSac article entitled, “The Betrothal View of Divorce and Remarriage.” Online subscription can be purchased here.

  1. #1 by Alyssa on April 15, 2008 - 11:07 am

    Interesting…I spoke to my Sunday School class (3rd and 4th grade) about divorce on Sunday…most of them honestly never heard/knew that divorce was wrong! How sad that we have dropped the ball somewhere…

Leave a Reply

