Currently Reading – Recently Read


1. How to Choose a Translation for All Its Worth (Fee and Strauss)

Having read How To Read the Bible For All Its Worth, I bought this book with hopes that I could recommend it to several friends, some of which I hope will become members of a church I pastor in the future. Overall I thought it was a great read (written on the lay-person level), providing some clarity both to issues surrounding the Hebrew/Aramaic and Greek texts upon which modern translations are based and to those of translation (i.e. how to handle the Greek genitive and Hebrew construct chain). However, Fee and Strauss espouse dynamic/functional equivalence (thought for thought) of translations like the NIV/TNIV, as opposed to the formal equivalence of translations such as the KJV, NASB, ESV, etc. As such, this short work will be a good reference for my bookshelf (as it includes a good summary of the history of English Bible translation), but I probably won’t ever hand it out to future church members. I believe that fidelity to the original text is more important than fidelity to one’s own language. I am willing to sacrifice a certain measure of readability in the English language for more certain accuracy/faithfulness to the original.   

2. Epistle to the Romans (Moo, NICNT)

Only 100 pages in and loving every page, savoring every footnote (well, almost every).  

3. Tale of Two Sons (MacArthur)

Began this volume, grew a little bored and laid it aside for awhile. The introduction on parables seemed redundant to me (maybe because the content was review, but more probably because it wasn’t as concise as it could have been). After you get passed the first 40 or so pages it starts to get much more interesting. Perhaps I will have more to say when I finish it. 

4. A Reader’s Hebrew Bible (Brown and Smith)

My Hebrew skills are elementary at this point. That being said, I am just trying to work through about 10 verses a week. The footnotes/glosses are very helpful for me.  

5. Themelios 

This free theological journal is produced by the Gospel Coalition, edited by D.A. Carson. I found the article “Mission: a Problem of Definition” by Keith Ferdinando to be quite helpful. He argues strongly that in order to be truly missional, our priority must be making disciples; any other approach to being missional, although not necessarily intrinsically wrong or unhelpful, is a hi-jacking of the word.

HT: Andy Nasseli

  1. #1 by David Crabb on September 15, 2008 - 5:40 pm

    You should talk to Dr. Combs about dynamic vs formal equivalence (he espouses the former for the most part-NIV is his preferred translation). He has some thought-provoking points. I still prefer formal as you do, but he influenced me to go with ESV over NASB or KJV.

Leave a Reply

