Book Review: A Gospel Primer for Christians by Milton Vincent


For my most recent birthday my sister sent me a copy of A Gospel Primer for Christians. You could purchase the book on Amazon for only a couple dollars (click here), or you can purchase it directly from the author’s church (click here). Unfortunately, the free pdf download is no longer available. 

The major premise of the book is that Christians still need to hear the gospel even after conversion. Paul told the church at Rome that was ready to preach them the gospel (1:15). Vincent (admittedly borrowing from Bridges) contends that we should preach the gospel to ourselves every day — this means we should methodically internalize the gospel, rehearsing it over and over, meditating upon its truths daily. 

Part 1 gives about 30 reasons we need to hear the gospel every day. One of the most intense and deeply convicting sections is found on page 34: 

The Cross also exposes me before the eyes of other people, informing them of the depth of my depravity. If I wanted others to think highly of me, I would conceal the fact that a shameful slaughter of the perfect Son of God was required that I might be saved. But when I stand at the foot of the Cross and am seen by others under the light of that Cross, I am left uncomfortably exposed before their eyes. Indeed, the most humiliating gossip that could ever be whispered about me is blared from Golgotha’s hill; and my self-righteous reputation is left in ruins in the wake of its revelations. With the worst facts about me thus exposed to the view of others, I find myself feeling that I truly have nothing left to hide. Thankfully, the more exposed I see that I am by the Cross, the more I find myself opening up to others about ongoing issues of sin in my life. (Why would anyone be shocked to hear of my struggles with past and present sin when the Cross already told them that I am a desperately sinful person?) And the more open I am in confessing my sins to fellow-Christians, the more I enjoy the healing of the Lord in response to their grace-filled counsel and prayers. 

Part 2 is the gospel in prose, part 3 in poem. The final section is the author’s personal testimony. 

In an age when popular authors are harmfully thought provoking (trying to convince people to reconsider foundational gospel truths), Milton Vincent calls us back to what should be our perpetual focus — the incomprehensible love of God in Christ Jesus which, toward alienated sinners, was powerfully demonstrated on the cross. 

I can’t recommend this book more strongly. Not yet convinced you should buy it?  

Check out these reviews: 

My Two Cents

Heart of Ezra

  1. #1 by Dani on August 5, 2008 - 7:17 pm

    This is one of my favorite books!

Leave a Reply

