More Apostasy From Emerging/Emergent


In 2003, Steve Chalke wrote:

God affirms the original goodness of humankind

In 2004, Brian McLaren created his own tulip theology, the “T” representing “Triune Love,” as opposed to “Total Depravity.” One’s view of Calvinism is really not the issue here; in his Generous Orthodoxy he created a new Tulip because he believes that the evangelical church is overemphasizing sin and judgment. What world is he living in?

In 2005, Rob Bell weighed in with:

God has an incredibly high view of people. God believes that people are capable of amazing things.

When I first read the above works, I believed that these men were denying serious doctrines of the faith. My detractors argued that those within Emerging/Emergent were somehow rephrasing biblical terms in order to reach a generation that isn’t accustomed to theological jargon. If you missed it then, get it now: the apostasy is becoming much more explicit and “in your face.” And this is only the beginning.

Just this week, Tony Jones has announced that he does not believe in original sin. He writes,

Since then [college years], I’ve become more uncomfortable with the notion that people are inherently bad, prideful, etc. I don’t deny the reality of sin. But I do doubt that human beings are depraved from birth.

So, without quoting the Bible, what do you think? Are human beings predisposed to good or evil?

I don’t know which bothers me more – that he doubts we are born sinful or that he doesn’t want people to answer using the Bible. I think the latter problem explains the former. If you reject the Bible as the only authority, then of course it’s irrelevant to such a discussion! 

If anyone wondered what Jones meant by “original sin,” he actually defines it for us in a later post; he writes,

Original sin is a Christian doctrine that says that everyone is born sinful. This means that they are born with a built-in urge to do bad things and to disobey God.

Original sin is not just this inherited spiritual disease or defect in human nature; it’s also the ‘condemnation’ that goes with that fault.

I’ll stand with Jeremiah that the heart is both deceitful and desperately wicked…

  1. #1 by john frerich on January 28, 2009 - 8:16 pm

    This one is a real no-brainer. I have this discussion with my patients, though on a different level, nearly every day. The closer to the discussion is a very simple question, one every father and mother can answer without resorting to “emergent Orwellian double-speak.” The question is this: Do you have to teach you children to be good or to be bad?
    And to think I didn’t even have to use the bible!
    Seriously, this is so simple but obvious for all to see, except sadly those who will not see.
    Answer every time:”I have to teach them to be good!”

  2. #2 by Ken Silva on January 31, 2009 - 7:52 pm

    Hi John,

    Good to see you. It’s been a long time. I know I agree with you. In one of my articles I pointed out the answer is as close to parents as a new born babe.

    As in its screaming in the wee hiours of the morning: “I want what I want and I want it now!”

  3. #3 by john frerich on February 3, 2009 - 6:31 pm

    Ken,
    I try to keep up with you daily. You are in close contact with my friend and pastor John Chisham. We will be going to the True Church conference in 2 weeks. It should be good. If you want to email me it is jwfdds@chartermi.net.
    Do you have any items that need prayer?
    John

Leave a Reply

