Tip of the Day: Evangelism (3)


If you live in a bigger city, you doubtless encounter the homeless on a regular basis. Here’s how I interact with them at the gospel level: 

  • I never give them money. 
  • If they are hungry, I’m always willing to buy them something to eat. 
  • I usually sit down with them and pray with them over the meal, asking God to help them in their situation (i.e. help them find work, etc). 
  • I always share the gospel with them in this context. 
  • When I share the gospel, I talk to them about redemption primarily. This means that I frame sin in terms of slavery. Jesus said: “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave to sin.” I have found this angle to be especially helpful, as many of the homeless are addicted to alcohol. Redemption, then, is a picture of God buying us out of sin at a great cost, namely the blood of Jesus Christ. 
  1. #1 by Diane R on February 21, 2009 - 5:38 pm

    I’m curious. Would you want your wife to do this alone?

  2. #2 by Diane R on February 21, 2009 - 5:42 pm

    I wasn’t being sarcastic or snarky in my previous comment. But I’m reading all the time these types of comments from men. But when I ask them if a woman alone should this, they just kind of stare at me, because I don’t think they have thought about that before. I live in a large city and just going to the senior center or library is a task because of the hordes of homeless all around these places. Almsot all of them are males, most on drugs or mentally ill. I’m not sure I should ask one of them if I can take them out to lunch. do you? Any other suggestions?

  3. #3 by clearly on February 21, 2009 - 5:49 pm

    When we run into situations like this, my wife speaks to the ladies and I speak to men; we are usually together.

    I would never advise my wife to engage a homeless man by herself. Things can happen too quickly. A girl I went to college with was border-line-assaulted while witnessing on the street and a guy was within 10 yards of her. It happened so quickly, he couldn’t stop it fast enough.

Leave a Reply

