Tip of the Day: Evangelism (7)


Pray for God to open doors for gospel witness. Romans 3 makes it clear that there are none who seek after God. If, then, an individual is seeking God, we must assume that God is seeking that particular individual. Based upon this, our evangelism must be founded upon the fact that God works and God is working, not upon our ability to persuade or convince.

Colossians 4:3-4:

Withal praying for us, that God would open unto us a door of utterance, to speak the mystery of Christ, for which I am also in bonds: that I may make it manifest as I ought to speak.  

Some more thoughts on this verse:

  1. The Colossians were to pray for Paul and his associates.
  2. The Colossians were to pray for them with the purpose that God would open up doors for speaking the gospel.
  3. This gospel message was the reason for Paul’s imprisonment.
  4. Paul must reveal the gospel by speaking it.
  1. #1 by Chris W on February 27, 2009 - 4:10 am

    Prayer makes the difference in effective evangelism. Here is a strategy I use:

    http://www.evangelismcoach.org/2009/evangelism-prayer-list/

    I also know that prayer prepares my heart to help me listen to the immediate prompting of the Holy Spirit, which sharpens my witness.

    I enjoy your Tip series.

    Chris W
    EvangelismCoach.org

Leave a Reply

