Tip of the Day: Evangelism (8)


In his book, The Gospel and Personal Evangelism, Mark Dever gives 12 practical steps that Christians should take towards becoming evangelists (paraphrased):

  1. Pray. Ask God for opportunities and the power to take advantage of them.
  2. Plan to evangelize.
  3. Accept that evangelism is our job as Christians.
  4. Understand that God requires faithfulness even if we don’t feel gifted.
  5. Be faithful even when you have a cultural excuse not to evangelize.
  6. Take risks even if it may jeopardize a relationship.
  7. Prepare to evangelize, whether it be practicing on friends or thinking about answering potential objections to the gospel.
  8. Look for opportunities, expecting God to answer #1.  
  9. Love others. This love will overcome our fear and help us to value their soul more than our pride.
  10. Fear God. “When we don’t share the gospel, we are essentially refusing to live in the fear of the Lord.”
  11. Stop blaming God for being sovereign. “We should not conclude from his omnipotence that our obedience is therefore pointless.”
  12. Consider Jesus (Hebrews 12:3).
  1. #1 by Kathy on February 27, 2009 - 8:28 am

    The greatest blessing that I have had, comes when people I’ve been witnessing to respond favorably. It all starts with prayer, both for me and for them.
    There are people all around us that need to hear the Gospel of our Lord, and He can give us the courage to speak it to them.

  2. #2 by Rebecca on February 27, 2009 - 9:17 am

    I am so much enjoying your evangelism tips, Dave. Sometimes when I’m speaking for Christ I get so nervous it’s hard me to think “clearly.” Thanks for the tools! You’re an incredible example, even to your “big sister!”

  3. #3 by clearly on February 27, 2009 - 10:42 am

    “There are people all around us that need to hear the Gospel of our Lord, and He can give us the courage to speak it to them.”

    Amen!

    Rebecca, I’m an example? Who did God use to call us into church-planting? 🙂 Love ya.

  4. #4 by Ben Lavicka on March 2, 2009 - 12:40 pm

    I’ve been sharing my faith since I’ve been saved Dec 2001. One thing I’ve noticed that helped me in communicating the Gospel was a course I took called Evangelism Explosion. There are many similar courses offered, but I recommend asking your pastor if the church could offer a 3/6/9/12 week course on how to share the gospel.
    The course in training should help equip the body of Christ to share the Gospel of our Lord.

Leave a Reply

