NYC Mission Trip, My Reflections on Day 2-5


This week we have been so busy! Yesterday, we spent some time in Flushing (what seemed like a Little Hong Kong) doing some simple tract distribution. I favor relationally-oriented evangelism, but was reminded how God uses other methods and strategies as well. I offered a Chinese man a tract; he asked me to help him read it! We spent the next 15-20 minutes reading the gospel slowly, while I did my best to explain each concept. Pray that Eric will contact me soon; he now has a Bible! 

We had a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity today; we sang in the middle of Times Square! We sang about six different songs on a rotating basis, while others engaged the listeners with the gospel. Our group spoke with people from Germany, France, Italy, China, Turkey, Greece, Thailand, Barbados, Mexico, and Miami. Of course, that’s just off the top of my head; I’m sure there were more. Here’s some highlights: 

  • One of the girls in our group was able to speak to a Roman Catholic quite extensively; the man believed the gospel today! 
  • I was able to, in his own language, share some verses with a French man. At the close of our conversation, Guy told me that he plans to go home to France and purchase a French Bible. He said, “Our conversation confirms in my mind that the Bible is a book I need to read before I die.” 
  • At least two men heard us from the upper levels of their Manhattan offices and came down just to hear the music. Both men heard the gospel too!
  • I am loving getting to spend so much time in fellowship and ministry with other believers! 

Quick Rant

We were definitely the best-dressed musicians in the area today, since the closest other “musician” is known only by the name “The Naked Cowboy.” What a strange world we live in…a place where a man can show up in essentially his underwear, strum a guitar, make good money, and call it his job! 

End Rant

  1. #1 by Chris on March 25, 2009 - 8:47 am

    Praise God for these reports! I’m really looking forward to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

