Hermeneutic of Arrogance


I read the Bible with a hermeneutic of arrogance. I confess.

It’s not that I’m arrogant because I believe that the authors of the Bible intended a meaning and that this meaning can be understood through proper interpretation, which I naturally practice flawlessly:) I’m not necessarily arrogant because I do pretty much believe that most of the time other people are wrong in their interpretations, while I and the rest of the dispensational pre-millennialists are correct. Perhaps that’s a sort of arrogance, but not the kind I’m talking about right now.

This hermeneutical pride looks like this:

I read the account of the fall of humanity and ponder Adam and Eve in disgust.

I consider the story of Hosea and Gomer and immediately identify myself as the prophet, not the prostitute.

I regard myself as Joshua and not Achan.

I’m the apostle or his helpers, as I read the pastorals, and never the one who forsook them because I loved this present world and certainly not the one who did them much evil.

Always the rich and never the poor. Always the hero and never the villian. Always the saint and never the sinner.

That’s my hermeneutic of arrogance.

Do you ever read the Bible like this too?

  1. #1 by Rebecca on April 9, 2009 - 3:32 pm

    Ouch, Dave!

  2. #2 by miriam marriott on April 10, 2009 - 6:06 am

    Recently I heard a pastor say that as soon as the topic of a message is announced, we immediately assess whether this will really apply to us (might I be convicted over this?) or if we will just listen and hope THAT OTHER PERSON heard it! Spiritual arrogance… I see it in myself all too often!

  1. Hermeneutic of Arrogance: Philippians 2:9-11 « seeing clearly

Leave a Reply

