Hermeneutic of Arrogance: Philippians 2:9-11


A while ago, I tried to pull away the facade and admit that I read the Bible with a hermeneutic of arrogance. Although, I must admit, that even in posting something like that, I struggled with pride. It’s a strange sort of pride that glories in admitting the need for humility. That vicious cycle aside, last week as I prepared for a Bible study, I came across Philippians 2:9-11: 

Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. 

My first thought was to take this text and run with it regarding those outside Christ, as I’ve heard some well-intentioned preachers do. We’ve all heard it said, “they can bow now or they can bow later, it’s their choice.” That’s true. However, that’s not the point in Philippians 2. If you read the Bible with a hermeneutic of arrogance (as I do), you will be prone to missing the true point. 

The point here is not that others will one day bow before the exalted Jesus Christ. The point is that one day, I will bow before Jesus and confess that He is Lord to the glory of God the Father. The point is that every member of the body will be there, humbly prostrated before the Lord. The Philippians were struggling with unity; Paul reminds them that while they think they are pretty high and mighty right now, that one day, each of them will occupy the same position, sprawled out, face to the ground, as the Lamb of God is glorified for who He is. 

My knees will bow. 

My tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. 

God, by your grace, deliver me from the hermeneutic of arrogance.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

